Organizational Structure

The Commission has 90.6 full-time positions organized into 10 offices, all headed by a Chairman and two Commissioners.

Office of the Executive Director (OED)
The Office of the Executive Director (OED) oversees the administrative offices of the Commission. The Executive Director is the performance officer for the Commission, responsible for developing and assuring completion of all strategic planning initiatives as well as overseeing the agency’s budget and financial management. The Deputy Executive Director, Chief of Human Resources, the Director of Strategic Communications, and the Director of Consumer Services report to the Executive Director.

Office of the Deputy Executive Director (ODED)
The Office of the Deputy Executive Director (ODED) is responsible for overseeing a variety of management and administrative areas, including information technology, contracts and procurements, facility management, vehicle administration, and other Commission administrative programs and projects. The Commission Secretary also reports to the Deputy Executive Director.

Office of the Technical and Regulatory Analysis (OTRA)
The Director of the Office of Technical & Regulatory Analysis (OTRA) advises the Commissioners on accounting, economic, engineering, clean energy, and financial issues in formal cases that are before the DCPSC. OTRA staff also monitor electric, natural gas and local telecommunications markets at the retail and wholesale levels. OTRA conducts compliance reviews and audits and manages formal cases and investigations. Staff conduct annual surveys to gauge the status of local competition in the District. OTRA analyzes the electric and gas utilities’ climate policy plans and targets, including reductions in greenhouse gas emissions, energy efficiency objectives, and other demand-side management programs. OTRA is subdivided into five technical offices: Office of Economics, Office of Finance & Accounting, Office of Infrastructure & System Planning, Office of Compliance & Enforcement and Office of Climate Action.

Office of the General Counsel (OGC)
The Office of the General Counsel (OGC) is responsible for all legal issues involving the day-to-day operations of the Commission, as well as a broad spectrum of issues that relate to the Commission's regulatory responsibilities. OGC represents and advises the Commission on all actions and proceedings set forth in the enabling statute or any other legislation. The staff of attorneys prepare orders, advisory memoranda, and assist the Commissioners in conducting all proceedings of the Commission.

Office of Strategic Communications (OSC)
The Office of Strategic Communications (OSC) oversees internal and external communications efforts, including stakeholder engagement initiatives, media relations, and other digital efforts, and maintains the DCPSC brand identity. OSC develops and disseminates all materials intended for external stakeholders, including members of the public, the press, the DC Council, the Mayor, and District/federal agencies, as well as internal communications for staff. The office prepares public notices, press releases, newsletters, social media updates, website updates, explanatory videos, and other materials.

Office of the Commission Secretary (OCMS)
The Office of the Commission Secretary (OCMS) is responsible for maintaining the official files of the Commission. The office serves as the custodian of the official files and documents, ensuring their safety and integrity, and serves as a distribution point for the public's access to Commission filings, orders, and other documents.

Office of Consumer Services (OCS)
The Office of Consumer Services (OCS) mediates utility company complaints and inquiries as well as manages public and community outreach programs. OCS provides complaint and informational services to utility consumers, informs the Commission of local and national consumer-related trends, and provides the Commission with information on how well the utility companies serve their customers. OCS engages with individuals and community groups across the District to create a dialogue and understand residents’ concerns.

Office of Human Resources (OHR)
The Office of Human Resources (OHR) provides human resource services to the DCPSC so that it can recruit, hire, manage, train, retain and motivate a qualified and diverse workforce. The office also facilitates employee training and development to help increase productivity, enhance workforce skills and improve the Commission's internal capabilities and performance.

Office of Information Technology (OIT)
The Office of Information Technology (OIT) is the central technology support for the Commission. OIT develops, implements, and maintains the Commission's technology infrastructure and implements major enterprise applications. It establishes and oversees technology policies and standards for the Commission as well as provides technology services. OIT develops technology solutions to improve services to all offices within the Commission.
Office of the Agency Fiscal Officer (OAFO)
The Office of the Agency Fiscal Officer (OAFO) develops, implements and administers the budgeting, accounting, financial reporting and auditing systems as mandated by the District's Office of the Chief Financial Officer. These responsibilities are carried out in collaboration with the management directives of the Commission's Chairman and the Commissioners.