

Your Energy. Your Voice.

Press Release

For Immediate Release: March 14, 2022

Contact: Kellie Didigu, kdidigu@psc.dc.gov, 202-626-5124

DCPSC Interim Chairman Appointed as Co-Vice Chair of NARUC Committee on Critical Infrastructure

(Washington, D.C.) Interim Chairman Emile C. Thompson of the Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia was appointed as the Co-Vice Chair of the Critical Infrastructure Committee by the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC). The new position aligns with the Commission's goal of ensuring the safety, reliability, and sustainability of the District's utility distribution systems. NARUC is a non-profit organization representing public service commissions that regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.

"Once again, I am honored to be selected by NARUC President Judith Williams Jagdmann to serve, and I look forward to continuing to faithfully represent the interests and residents of the District of Columbia. I appreciate the opportunity to expand my role and work with NARUC," said Chairman Thompson.

Interim Chairman Thompson was previously appointed to the NARUC Energy Resources and the Environment and Critical Infrastructure Committees in December 2021.

The NARUC Committee on Critical Infrastructure was established after the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks to provide state regulators a forum to analyze solutions to utility infrastructure security and delivery concerns. As demonstrated on September 11 and later during Hurricane Katrina, protecting the nation's energy and telecommunications infrastructure is critical to national security. This committee gives state regulators opportunities to share best practices and collaborate amongst themselves and their federal counterparts, in an effort to strengthen critical infrastructure.

The Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia is an independent agency established by Congress in 1913 to regulate electric, natural gas, and telecommunications companies in the District of Columbia.