

Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia 1333 H Street, N.W., 6<sup>th</sup> Floor, East Tower Washington, D.C. 20005 202-626-5120 www.dcpsc.org

## **Press Release**

For Immediate Release: February 9, 2015

Contact: Kellie Armstead Didigu, Public Affairs Specialist Email: kdididgu@psc.dc.gov Office: 202-626-5124

## Chairman Betty Ann Kane Re-Appointed to Board of National Regulatory Research Institute

(Washington, D.C.) Betty Ann Kane, Chairman of the Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia, has been re-appointed to the Board of Directors of the National Regulatory Research Institute (NRRI). As a member of the Board, Chairman Kane will serve as Board Treasurer. The Commission is a member of NRRI, which is a national association serving state utility regulators by producing and disseminating research that provides analytical framework and practical tools necessary to improve public interest decision-making of utility regulators. Founded in 1976 by the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC), the Board consists of 13 members.

"Chairman Kane's contributions to the regulatory community are well known to all of us," said NARUC President Lisa Edgar of Florida. "She is a leader on national and local issues and I am thankful for her continued desire to serve."

Betty Ann Kane is an experienced public official combining over 30 years of service to the District of Columbia Government in elected and appointed positions with extensive private sector experience in regulatory, administrative and public policy matters. Before joining the PSC, Chairman Kane served two terms as an At-Large member of the DC Board of Education, and was elected to three terms as an At-Large member of the City Council. She also served for twelve years as a Trustee and as Executive Director of the District of Columbia Retirement Board.

Betty Ann Kane has served as a Commissioner on the D.C. PSC since March 2007 and as Chairman of the Commission since 2009.

The Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia is an independent agency established by Congress in 1913 to regulate electric, natural gas and telephone companies in the District of Columbia.