

## Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia 1325 G Street N.W., Suite 800 Washington, D.C. 20005 202-626-5100 www.dcpsc.org

## **Press Release**

For Immediate Release: July 19, 2016

Contact: Kellie Armstead Didigu, Media Relations Specialist

Email: <a href="mailto:kdidigu@psc.dc.gov">kdidigu@psc.dc.gov</a> Office: 202-626-5124

## **PSC Employee Appointed to LGBTQ Advisory Committee**

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Marvin "Abdur-Rahim" Briggs, staff member of the Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia, was appointed to serve a two year term as Commissioner to the Advisory Committee to the Office of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning (LGBTQ) Affairs. The Advisory Committee is a permanent and cabinet-level office within the Office of Community Affairs in the Executive Office of the Mayor, Muriel E. Bowser. Mr. Briggs was sworn in yesterday by Mayor Bowser along with over 30 Commissioners from various District of Columbia boards and commissions.

The LGBTQ Advisory Committee works with the Mayor's Office of LGBTQ Affairs addressing concerns of the LGBTQ community to find innovative ways of utilizing government resources to help address issues affecting LGBTQ, District residents.

Mr. Briggs is a Records Management Specialist for the Commission and serves as a Board of Director for the Greater Washington, D.C. Association of Records Managers and Administrators (ARMA) Chapter. He recently managed the team responsible for the re-design and implementation of the new Commission website, <a href="www.dcpsc.org">www.dcpsc.org</a>. A graduate of California State University, Bakersfield, Mr. Briggs is a proud Ward 8 resident.

The Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia is an independent agency established by Congress in 1913 to regulate electric, natural gas, and telecommunications companies in the District of Columbia.

###



Mayor Muriel E. Bowser (center) congratulates newly appointed Commissioner Marvin "Abdur-Rahim" Briggs (far right) to the Advisory Committee to the Office of LGBTQ Affairs as well as other Commissioners from various boards and commissions.