PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA 1325 G STREET, N.W., SUITE 800 WASHINGTON, D.C. 20005

NOTICE OF INQUIRY

July 27, 2023

GD-2023-02-M, IN THE MATTER OF THE INQUIRY INTO THE DISCOVERY PROCESS FOR RATE APPLICATIONS,

- 1. By this Notice of Inquiry ("NOI"), the Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia ("Commission") requests input from stakeholders about recommended requirements for the filing of future rate case applications by regulated utilities, to streamline discovery and improve the efficiency of future rate case proceedings. These recommendations may affect District of Columbia Municipal Regulations ("D.C.M.R.") Title 15, Chapters 1 and 2. Responses to this NOI will inform the Commission in advance of issuing a rulemaking to amend these chapters.
 - 2. We request that interested persons file comments addressing the questions below.
 - a. What information and documentation should be included in potential minimum filing requirements for future rate case applications? Be specific.
 - b. What other parameters should be in place to govern future rate case applications?
 - c. What other modifications should be made to ensure that future rate case applications can be reviewed and assessed in a timely manner?¹
- 3. Persons interested in commenting on the issues presented above shall file their comments no later than September 29, 2023, and reply comments no later than October 30, 2023. Comments may be filed with Brinda Westbrook-Sedgwick, Commission Secretary, Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia. at the Commission's website https://edocket.dcpsc.org/public/public comments. Persons with questions concerning this Notice should call the Commission Secretary's Office at 202-626-5150 or send an email to psccommissionsecretary@dc.gov.

This NOI will not affect current pending cases. The result of this NOI will become in effect upon final implementation of the revised rules.

Notice of Inquiry Page No. 2

A TRUE COPY: BY DIRECTION OF THE COMMISSION:

CHIEF CLERK: BRINDA WESTBROOK-SEDGWICK

COMMISSION SECRETARY